Alamo Academies’ Information Technology and Security Academy (ITSA) CyberPatriot team was announced the winner of the San Antonio Mayor’s Cyber Cup this Saturday at the luncheon at the Valero Venues.

 Additional highlights: 

1.      3rd year in a row an ITSA team has received this honor and also

2.      3rd year in a row we have an ITSA team heading to the CyberPatriot finals competition in Washington D.C.

At the ceremony, Mayor Castro presented each member of the ITSA winning team a $1,000 Scholarship, a bomber leather jacket and a new Mini-I-pad.

 The following is a picture of the winning team provided by a very proud team member’s mother.

[lightbox link=”” thumb=”×145.jpg” width=”195″ align=”left” title=”cisd cp 3rd yr in a row” frame=”true” icon=”image”]


From left to right:  Cory Nichols (Seguin High School Junior), Paul Hopson (Canyon High School Senior), Kenny Graves (New Braunfels High School Senior), Maggie Schmeltekopf (New Braunfels High School Senior), Jason Mirch (Seguin High School Junior), Stephen La Rosa (Canyon High School Junior).


The next picture of the winning team includes Mayor Castro and Major General Suzanne Vautrinot, the 24th Air Force Commander.  Major General Vautrinot coordinated the Secret clearance process for the ITSA students in order for them to accomplish their internships at the 24th Air Force.  In addition, she has also brought on these ITSA students to continue their work at the 24th AF part-time during their high school year – an amazing partnership!

  [lightbox link=”” thumb=”×129.jpg” width=”195″ align=”left” title=”CISD-ITSATeamLARGE” frame=”true” icon=”image”]


Pictured left to right:  Stephen La Rosa – Canyon Junior; Cory Nichols – Seguin Junior; Jason Mirch – Seguin Junior; Maggie Schmeltekopf – New Braunfels Senior; Kenny Graves – New Braunfels Senior; Paul Hopson – Canyon Senior; Mayor Castro and Major General Vautrinot