The Alamo Academies program was awarded a prestigious Star Award by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.  The Award recognizes exceptional contributions toward meeting one or more of the State’s goals of “Closing the Gaps”.  Criteria includes demonstrated successful outcomes in areas of student participation, student success, and academic excellence and demonstrated improvement and excellence over time through the use of benchmarks and other comparison data that allow progress to be monitored and evaluated.  Selection  is made through a 6-step process, including evaluation by an external review panel consisting of Coordinating Board members, Texas business and community leaders and out-of-state higher education experts.  The Award was presented at the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s Annual Leadership Conference/State of Higher Education luncheon held in Austin.

[lightbox link=”” thumb=”×214.jpg” width=”300″ align=”none” title=”Star Award Alamo Academies 2012″ frame=”true” icon=”image”]

Front row:  Sandi Boyd, Academy Coordinator, Marivel Nanez, Academy Coordinator, Erica Garza, Academy Coordinator, Charla Weiswurm, Industry supporter Back Row:  Dr. Federico Zaragoza, Vice Chancellor of Economic & Workforce Development – Alamo Colleges, Mr. Roberto Zárate – Alamo Colleges Trustee – District 5, Troy Kettell, Academy Chief Coordinator, Gene Bowman, Executive Director, Alamo Academies , Dr. Bruce Leslie, Chancellor – Alamo Colleges, Klaus Weiswurm, Academy Board Chair and CEO/Owner ITM, Joe Wilson , Academy board member and industry partner, Joe Alderete, Alamo Colleges Trustee – District 1